Burnt Strawberry Squares

A New Recipe is Born

We don’t have a good harvest of strawberries this year,  but it is enough for us.  I bought some strawberries in the market the other day, but I completely forgot about them.  They were fresh but I decided to cook them for a stew, and I was looking forward to eating them with yoghurt. Anyway as always I do too many things at the same time, and that day I forgot about the  stewing of strawberries.  They were burnt, the smell was intense but the taste was not too bad.

The preparation for the stew: I  mixed the berries with white sugar and some sherry.  I rested them for 25 minutes, then I cooked and  brought to boil for a few minutes, reduced the heat and cooked for about 5 minutes further.  It looked too runny, so I kept on cooking, without a lid on over very low heat for . . .?  I was called by the burnt smell, then I rushed to the kitchen, I found the stew was over cooked and slightly burnt.  Oh dear, I stirred and tasted it, it had a delicious sweet burnt flavour.  I could safe the stew (I thought)

It had a thick lumpy mixture  but at  the bottom of the pot, was  blackish.  A big job to clean the pot!.  Rayner, my dear husband came to the rescue for me,  now it is spotless, the pot is clean and shiny, it took him for a long time.  Thanks Rayner.  I cook and burn pots,  a lot of times.  The story of the burnt black pots are continued since thirty seven years ago, the time we purchased the cooking set.

Burnt Strawberry Stew
Burnt Strawberry Stew

The washing of the pot

ImageImageImageI hate wasting, particularly in my kitchen.  I will bake a cake with the  burnt flavour, and it may work well.  I found all materials from my pantry and the refrigerator,  that will be needed for the cake.  I will bake Burnt Strawberry Cake Squares.  A new cake was born for my family, and I am happy to show you the process of making  and serving it.

The Ingredients: Self raising flour, eggs, yoghurt, oil, sugar, 1/3 cup the burnt strawberry stew.

The Cake

100_6056 100_6057 100_6059 100_6062

I baked the cake on a high heat fan forced oven for 26-30 minutes in my oven.

100_6086 100_6093To decorate and to serve the cake can be varied, have it a sliced with icing powder or top up with caramel and roasted almond flakes or have them half and half

100_6184

100_6189 100_6191

100_6205

You could cut the cake into smaller sizes, small squares or small rectangular shapes.  They look very attractive, taste good, it is a delicious moist cake.  Have the cake with tea or coffee for any occasion.

Recipe by Susi for you.

Burnt Strawberry Squares

Ingredients

100_6199
1 cup and half full self- raising flower
3/4 cup white castor sugar
1/3 cup milk and 1 tablespoon yoghurt
1/2 cup oil
2 egg, lightly beaten, add in a pinch of salt (very little)

2/3 cup burnt strawberry stew

STEPS

Place all ingredients in a large bowl accept the burnt strawberry stew, mix them quickly but gently until the mixture is smooth.

Add in the burnt strawberry mixture, mix lightly (or just swirl it around)

Transfer the mixture onto lined oblong tray

Bake on a preheated hot oven at 200 degrees C, for 26-30 minutes

Take it out of the oven, dust with icing sugar if you want to have it that way.

Rest in the tin for 10 minutes, then transfer on to a cooling tray

Dress the cake as you wish

Slice into squares, it makes 20 small squares.

Enjoy the recipe, give it ago.  To make the burnt strawberry stew is easy enough.

Burnt Strawberry Stew

1 cup fresh strawberries, add 1/2 cup sugar and 3 tablespoons of sherry.
Rest for 5 minutes,  stir the mixture, add in two tablespoons water, cook over a low heat for a few minutes
Continue cooking over low heat for 5 minutes, then bring them to rapid simmer until almost caramelized, then take it off the heat.
When the mixture is cold it will be thickened.  To use it, just add some water and reheat until it melts

I am happy to share the recipes as a special offering to you all, have fun,  happy cooking and baking.

More Recipes to come.  Susi

Thank You For Visiting

Leave a Reply

