My Sponge Cakes

Morning tea, afternoon, or high tea and also  birthday parties are not complete if you don’t serve sponge cakes. It is so delicate, creamy and always looks festive.
I have been baking sponge cakes for years, and I almost say that I have my own recipes.   Well to certain extent I may be allowed to think that.  Originally I got the recipes from friends, and also from the books, to that I adjusted to make my baking easy.    Of course the core of ingredients and technique  stay the same.

I baked a Victoria chocolate sponge cake last time, it was my first attempt as I prefer an ordinary sponge.  It was based on a recipe that I found on the web, but I changed the compositions.  Mine was a smaller version, I used standard sandwich tin to bake.  It was so good, family and friends loved it.

 

Chocolate Victoria Sponge

3 eggs
150 g self raising flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon rounded chocolate coco powder and 2 tablespoons boiling water
150 g softened butter
150 g castor sugar

Filling

Coffee butter cream filling
100 g  softened butter
250 g icing sugar
1 tablespoon boiling water and 2 teaspoons instant coffee

Beat all the ingredients, until smooth and creamy.

Steps

Line and butter two sandwich tins with baking paper
Preheat the oven up to 165 degrees C for a fan forced oven
Sift the dry ingredients, flour and baking powder
In a large bowl, mix the coco powder with boiling water blend smoothly, let it cool.  Add in the rest of ingredients, beat to blend to make a smooth batter
Pour onto the prepared tins, and bake in the preheated oven for 16-18 minutes
Leave the sponge on the tins for 5 minutes, then transfer onto a cooling tray to cool
When they are cold, sandwich the two sponges with coffee butter cream filling, and use some for the topping.

Preparation

chocolate Victoria sponge batter in two tins are ready to bake
chocolate Victoria sponge batter in two tins are ready to bake
Cold sponges are ready to decorate
Cold sponges are ready to decorate
100_7025
Coffee Butter Cream
100_7029
Sponge with the filling and topping
how to cut-slice the sponge
 slice the sponge into small slices, up to 16

slice the sponge into small slices, up to 16
Chocolate Victoria Sponge Sandwich decorate with coffee butter cream and walnut
Chocolate Victoria Sponge Sandwich decorate with coffee butter cream and walnuts

A simple and yet elegant dressed sponge cake fit for morning tea to share with family and friends.

Other sponges that I baked are plain sponge with four eggs which I added flavours, and also chocolate sponge cakes.  My ginger fluff is pretty good and very easy to prepare, it is my favourite.

Other Sponge Cakes 

100_7063
Slice up to 12, garnish with herb and flowers
Sponge cake with cream filling and passion fruit topping
Sponge cake with cream filling and passion fruit topping

Sliced sponge with cream and jam

100_7018 100_7017

Freshly Baked Ginger Fluff Sponge
Freshly Baked Ginger Fluff Sponge
Dressed Ginger Fluff Sponge Cake
Dressed Ginger Fluff Sponge Cake
Pink Sponge, a birthday cake for Mary Rose, on her sixth birthday
Pink Sponge, a birthday cake for Mary Rose, on her sixth birthday

Sponge cakes recipes are available if you like to have, I am happy to share them with you.  I will post them another time.

The sun is out now at my part of the world, it is an invitation to be outdoors that I could not resist, but it is a little bit cold, however the fresh air will do me good.

Until Next Post

Susi

Leave a Reply

