Rice and Roast

I enjoy cooking different dishes, cuisines from all over the world.  I don’t get stuck in my heritage, but of course if I long for something delicious and memorable I always go back to my original family’s cooking, it is simply a good hot rice dinner and tea to drink. Forget about the succulent roast dinner with the trimmings.

Not a long ago the children came home for a birthday celebration, so a large rice cone was served with chicken cooked in turmeric, hot egg curry and vegetable salad.  It was generous and festive, however everyone still had room for a dessert which was the birthday cake.

Rice Cone and Vegetable salad, dressed with coconut dressing
Rice Cone and Vegetable salad, dressed with coconut dressing
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Rice Cone with Garnishes
Vegetable salad, Chicken with Turmeric,
Hot eggs and prawns curry
The birthday cake Ginger Fluff Sponge with mini meringue
The birthday cake
Ginger Fluff Sponge with
mini meringue
100_9543
The birthday cake

I felt so right to have those dishes for the special occasion, it’s my heritage, ours to share.  Well tomorrow is another day I thought, another dish is going to be served, it’s a roast,  my adopted cooking.

Roast Dinner with all the trimmings
A large joint is better and easier to work with, the leftover is very precious as you could serve it for sandwich filling or a cold meat to go with salads.

Serving a roast dinner is very ceremonial if you will.  Meat had to be carved on the table, the gravy is ready on the gravy boat and all the hot roast vegetables and other trimmings are waiting there sitting on large platters.  A soft music in its back ground, keeps a relaxed atmosphere, everyone would chat along about things while they help them self their hot delicious roasted food.  However ceremonious it may be, the food is not the focus of the day, but togetherness is more important.

The cooking of a roast is so simple and easy, that is why I love it.  The adopted dish that is going to be in our family for generation.

Preparing the beef to roast
Preparing the beef to roast
Roast Beef is Cooked
Roast Beef is Cooked
The trimming for the roast beef: roast potato, sweet potato, Yorkshire pudding etc
The trimming for the roast beef: roast potato, sweet potato, Yorkshire pudding etc
The Roast Dinner
The Roast Dinner

Practicality is the key when everyone is home.  Cooking a roast in the oven as well as the dessert is efficient.   After the Yorkshire pudding is cooked, then the pear tartin takes its turn.

Pair Tartine
Pair Tartine

100_9663””’

We had a great time with the family that weekend, and enjoyed the delicious food, from rice and other dishes to a roast.

What I am trying to say here is,  it is always good to be proud about our own food, but in the same time we could enjoy other cooking with ease if we do it right.
All started from the family that I love,  garden that I created, the cooking that I do, all together makes me a better friend to others.  My Sacred Garden and Cooking for The Gods is the Summary for What I do, and for Who I am.

There is no recipe this time, but soon I love to share recipes about Javanese cooking the place where I come from.  Stay Tuned

Thanks For Visiting My Blog

Susi

Leave a Reply

