Autumn in the Garden

A new season is here, it is Autumn.  In the garden,  soon  camellia sasanqua will be in flowers, and the roses stay  flowering for a little longer.  Beautiful leaves are changing and falling off the trees, making a big mess in the ground.  Autumn’s weather is very pleasant, because it is not too hot, it is cool enough to be in the garden.
I made the best of it, yesterday I repotted my potted Yucca plants, it was very hard work, luckily Rayner helped me and he did the big job, smashing the pot, cutting the plants which are root bound.  I enjoyed the repotting, it was easy enough and I know that the new look is going to be better

Root bound yucca is out from the large pot
Root bound yucca is out from the large pot
Large Potted Yucca plants
Large Potted Yucca plants
Breaking and smashing the large pot to get the plant out.
Breaking and smashing the large pot to get the plant out.
Susy is repotting the yucca onto a  short large pot
Susy is repotting the yucca onto a short large pot
Rayner is bashing up the pot
Rayner is bashing up the pot

It was not easy to pull the plant out of the pot, in fact it’s impossible.  The only thing to do was that we had to smash to break the pot.  It’s a shame that we could not save it.

However I am pleased that we did it within two days to repot the plants and I love the new look.

The new three potted yucca plants are standing proudly and sitting in the front garden along right side of the house.  When they are settled, the plants will grow beautifully.  The front garden looks good now.

New Potted Yucca Plants
New Potted Yucca Plants

I love to be in the garden this time of the year, enjoy the fresh air, the colourful flowers and am feeling safe standing behind the lush green tall hedges.  The garden is my garden, our garden,  it is so sacred to me, so simple but it is a lovely place.

Colours in our garden in the early Atumn

Beautiful flowers are there, amazing foliage celebrate the Season.

Hydrangeas March 2014
Hydrangeas
March 2014
101_0954
Graham Thomas Rose
101_0955
White and Pink
Iceberg Roses
101_0970
Pink Creep Mertyl
Behind the Gate
Behind the Gate
101_0996
Beautiful Mixed Foliage
Variegated Red Roses
Variegated Red Roses
101_0975
Red Fragrance Roses

Red, Purple and Pink Flowers

101_0963

Dwarf  Nandina
Dwarf Nandina

101_0967 101_0971

It was raining last night, I have been waiting for it, and I hope the rains are here again, we do need a lot more.

The fruit trees in the backyard need protection, Rayner ‘s apple tree is doing well there were a lot of fruits, but unfortunately he could not harvest them as the birds got them  before him.

I am so fortunate with my potted fig trees, based on my experience that the birds come to pick the fruits, I covered them with old cloths, now they are well protected from the birds.  In fact I am lucky enough that I could harvest some this month, and there is going to be more.

Potted Fig Tree The fruits are  covered with cloth to protect from birds
Potted Fig Tree
The fruits are covered with cloths to protect from birds

101_1211

I am looking forward to having a busy Autumn, and it is going to be a good one.

Until Next Post

Susi

Leave a Reply

