Potted Fig Trees

My potted figs are doing well this year, they are fruiting and soon I will harvest them.  But in the mean time a protection from the birds have to take place.  Netting for the trees is necessary to keep the birds away, as last year they enjoyed the fruits before us.  Yesterday the net and netting sleeves were fixed, and hope for the best.

Potted Fig with a net to protect from the birds
Potted Fig with a net to protect from the birds

101_9106Netting – sleeves could be effective for small tree with little branches.

The netting sleeves, it comes two in a packet
The netting sleeves, it comes two in a packet

101_9112

101_9110

 

 

 

I hope these netting sleeves will do the job.  Sharing is a good thing, but the fruits are only a few.  Let the birds get other food, I am sure they can find them easily.

Last year the birds enjoyed the harvest before us, I make sure I will harvest them, taking care of the plants are fun, and more so having the reward.

Anything else that is happening in the garden, yes of course, Rayner has been busy putting the net for  his apple tree as well.  The good news is that this time he will have a lot of apples.  He looks after the tree very well, he should have a good crop.

Rayner's Apple Tree with the net to protect from the birds
Rayner’s Apple Tree with the net to protect from the birds

In the garden I work, enjoy and I am relaxed.  To indulge and to escape for me is my garden.

 

Until Next Post

Susi

 

Leave a Reply

