LAZY LAMB

img_5005-1
Lazy Lamb with Garnishes

I have cooked lazy lamb dishes a lot and this is one of them. It is the time that I don’t need fuss in my kitchen. A shoulder lamb joint is an excellent meat to cook if you got it right.  This time I cooked using wrapped the meat in mixed fresh herbs and wrapped again in a lined aluminium foil with baking paper.  Baked in the oven and let the oven did the rest. It did need two hours at least for the baking time. The result was great, the meat was soft, tender, moist and juicy.

I gathered the fresh herbs from the garden, I needed a lot, it was almost a basket full.

I rub the shoulder lamb with lemon juice and a tablespoon salt, from here I wrapped the lamb in the mixed fresh herbs (mint, lemon balm, rosemary) and I put it on a lined aluminium foiled with baking paper, and I wrapped again properly and tightly.  I placed it on a baking tray and baked in a hot oven (175 degrees C) for two hours.
img_4987-1 img_4989-1 The lamb was garnished img_4997with baked pumpkin, and eggplant and served with yoghurt, it was an influenced of Mediterranean cooking.

The wrapped method was excellent for this dish.  I am sure it will work too for cooking chicken or fish.

 

The Baked Pumpkin and Eggplant to garnish the Lazy Lamb.
img_4995-1img_4994-1
The leftover was excellent for a cold salad, filling sandwiches and also I cooked for a lamb parcel.  It is the cold meat of the lamb mixed with cheese and egg wrapped in my water pastry (phyllo pastry) and pan fried.

Delicious Lab Parcel, it’s crispy the outside and soft and savoury inside.
img_5026Recipe for water pastry, look on an older post.

The wrapped method was successful with me, all the best to you all if you wish to cook the meat this way.

 

UntilNext Post

Susi

 

Leave a Reply

